A Decadent Lunch – Roasted Squash with Lentils and Feta Cheese

It’s not often that I’m at home for lunch, even at the weekends, so last Sunday I thought I’d treat myself to something a little different – Roasted Squash with Lentils and Goat’s Cheese!

I usually have this as a main meal  but I think it works equally well as a more substantial lunch. I also had plenty left over for Monday’s packed lunch – bonus. It’s adapted from a Waitrose recipe card stolen from my mum’s kitchen!

For 4 servings you will need:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 butternut squash, peeled and deseeded, cut into small chunks 
  • 1 red pepper, cubed
  • 2 tbsp pumpkin seeds
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • Pack of feta cheese (or Goat’s Cheese), crumbled
  • Pack of lentils, ready to eat, ~250g (I use Merchant Gourmet Puy Lentils)
  • 1 tbsp chopped sage
  • Salad to serve – rocket or spinach is nice!

I cut this down into 2 large servings but only using half the butternut squash and half the lentils.

Image

Preheat your oven to 190°C (fan). Line a baking sheet with baking paper and mix the squash, pepper, sage and seeds together with the oil. Spread them out into an even layer and bake for 30-35 minutes until lightly browned.

Image

Tip everything out into your serving bowl(s) and leave to cool for a few minutes, then carefully stir in your lentils, balsamic vinegar and crumbled cheese. Yum!

Image

To use up the rest of the butternut squash, I added it to some mashed potato for last night’s dinner. I still need to think of a way to use up the remaining lentils…The last time I made this dish, I put them in a lasagne. When I put in front of my boyfriend he was disgusted: ‘Where’s the meat?!’. That pack of lentils also had some quinoa in them – it was a pretty earthy tasting lasagne, safe to say I won’t be making that again!

Hope everyone has had a great few days in the sun – let’s hope the bank holiday weekend is just as nice!

H x

Leave a Reply

