DIY Ikea Kitchen – The Finished Result!

As promised, here’s some photos of our (95%) finished IKEA kitchen.

I talked a little about the trials and tribulations of the DIY process here.

IMG_20160507_165041

IMG_20160508_105610

The kitchen is almost a replica of one of the displays in IKEA Bristol at the time – off-white shaker-style doors (GRYTNAS), speckled black acrylic worktop and grey laminate flooring. We didn’t want the fuss (or expense) of tiling, so we chose these narrow edging strips to border the worktop.

Originally I was very keen on wooden worktops with the white cabinets. After a little research I realised that they needed regular maintenance and have to be treated very carefully to avoid burn/scuff marks. I thought this could drive my boyfriend (who is very tidy and clean, bordering on obsessive!) mad with worry. Wooden worktops just aren’t practical for us now, but I wouldn’t rule them out for a future kitchen….

The kitchen is relatively small, narrow and dark at the farthest end, so I  wanted a simple, relatively clean design and colour palette. White walls open up and freshen the space and complete the calm and bright atmosphere that we wanted from a kitchen. To stop it feeling too ‘cold’ I’ve added small pops of colour from kitchen accessories and artwork.

IMG_20160507_165734

IMG_20160507_165710

IMG_20160507_165307

I love fun touches like my Edward Monkton Tea/Coffee/Sugar jars (I love Edward Monkton – I have quite a few mugs with other designs on too!). The Fixie Bike Pizza Cutter was one of my cycle-mad boyfriend’s birthday presents from his family this year.

IMG_20160507_175209

The ‘Kitchen’ Print was from the lovely Etsy shop Ivory Mint Cards. The moment I saw it I knew it was the perfect wry reminder of the design process – particularly Ikea’s cock-up with the sink measurements! I chose it in orange to pick up the colour of my casserole dish which I sometimes have out on display.

I found this ‘Caffeine Tea’ card in the gift shop of Bristol’s Arnolifini gallery last weekend (from the For Science range) I think it’s a nice nod to our scientific background – it will probably go up next to the ‘Kitchen’ print.

IMG_20160508_123400

 

In addition to the bright accents, my reclaimed wood chalkboard adds a bit of warmth to the space and breaks up the white and grey.

Minimalist purists will notice that, unfortunately, there are a number of different chrome finishes – we went with brushed chrome for the handles, tap and plug sockets, but they don’t match the shiny kettle and toaster that we already owned!

IMG_20160508_123414

I kept the wall above the sink free from cabinets to keep the space open. In hindsight I think it would have been ideal to put all the wall cabinets on that side of the kitchen (with the hob) and have the sink on the other side with clear walls to make the most of the light from the window. However we wanted to keep close to the original layout to avoid the cost and complexity of moving services around.

We’ve crammed in as much storage as possible at the far end of the kitchen with a tall cabinet next to the built-in fridge/freezer. IKEA didn’t have the model we wanted so gave us an upgraded one for the same price (bargain!) – unfortunately the design change meant that the false front at the top of the fridge door wouldn’t open against the slanted ceiling. We got around this by using two drawer fronts instead. Not quite as good aesthetically but at least we can access our food!

The future:

  • I’m going to add some slim white shelves next to the boiler to balance out the cupboard on the other side of the sink. We are also going to build in a small wine rack in a gap under the window.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this little insight into how we completed the project – we are really pleased with the result!

H x

2 thoughts on “DIY Ikea Kitchen – The Finished Result!

Leave a Reply

