Summer Style Wishlist/ New Look visit

I love clothes.

I used to be a bit of a shopping addict – these days I’m much more ‘well-behaved’. For the majority of my wardrobe, I’m trying to stick to a ‘less is more’ mentality and buy higher quality pieces that are more classic and will last longer. I’ve been gravitating towards a simpler, pared down look and colour pallete over the last couple of months – monochrome, navy and denim. A quick browse in a New Look store yesterday tested my pursuit of this re-freshed mentality to the limit…

In my uni years, New Look was a staple shop – cheap and fashion forward with new stock in the larger stores every couple of days (or so it seemed –  due to it’s dangerous position opposite a main bus stop, I could be found in the Bath store at least once a week). I still pop in there every now and again  – particularly for holiday or night out wear, which tends to be a bit more seasonal and trend-led. Now the warmer weather is here to stay, I’ve been re-evaluating my summer wardrobe..

What I loved, but ultimately didn’t buy because of fit/quality:

Navy Pinafore Culotte Jumpsuit – I love this look, probably just with some tan sandals and minimal accessories. I’m a size 8 with a boyish frame so (I think) I can usually pull off more androgynous looks. It just didn’t fit as well as I’d hoped – the material at the top and waist hung a bit oddly, but maybe just because I’m quite flat-chested 😦

I still love this, and it’s only ~£17….got to admit that I’m re-considering this!

White Stripe Pinafore Playsuit – yes, I love playsuits/jumpsuits! I imagined this one with a dark t-shirt underneath. I love the subtle stripes, but when on it seemed a bit underwhelming (against the minimalist mentality!). Again, the fit wasn’t quite right.

Floral Print Maxi Dress – I love floral prints, particularly smaller patterns. At odds with my usual style, I also have a penchant for long flowy dresses. The cross straps and wrap front of the dress were pretty, but again, not best suited for a small chest – it hung open on one side in an odd way! The straps didn’t seem to be evenly sized either – it would have needed a lot of adjusting and was actually quite difficult to get in and out of.

White crochet bikini…similar to this, but the one I tried on had more material that cascaded down over the bust. I’ve wanted a bikini like this for ages after identifying that they are flattering for my flat chest and wide shoulders. I felt that cream washed me out a bit – I think I’d prefer black.  Again, the fit wasn’t brilliant so I had second thoughts and opted to hold out for something a bit more durable.

What I did buy:

White Crochet-trim Kimono – a great cover-up, would work equally well at the beach or a more formal event like a wedding…

IMG_20160612_172015

I’m still on a the look-out for a few more summer buys!

H x

4 thoughts on “Summer Style Wishlist/ New Look visit

Leave a Reply

