Outfit: Wedding guest – my favourite dress

Wedding season is now over for me so this post is a little late – I just haven’t had time to take any photos! But I wanted to feature this dress which has seen me through 3 out of 4 weddings I’ve attended this year.

I bought this for a winter wedding way back in February but I loved it so much I wore it again in May and August! It was a barginous £28 in a sale at Miss Selfridge.

I’m not a huge fan of more traditional formal/prom style dresses – A line styles in particular don’t suit my frame very well. I’m always on the hunt for something a bit unusual. My other wedding go-to is this floral jumpsuit, also from Miss Selfridge.

I rarely wear long dresses but I LOVE the maxi-length cape sides of the dress. It perfectly combines the swishyness of a long dress with a practicality (and leg reveal!) of a short one. The long sections create a beautiful elegant movement when you walk. And predictably, it’s fun to dance in! When the music stepped up a level I just tied the sides around the body of the dress out of the way 🙂

To brighten up the outfit I paired the dress with a mustard-yellow suede fringed clutch (Oasis) and my ‘comfy’ burnt orange block heels (Office). Admittedly this dress would look better with higher heels – let’s be honest, everyone’s legs look better with higher heels! But after years of wearing ridiculous heels I’m trying to give my feet and my knees a break.

This dress definitely delivers on swish-factor! Would you wear a dress like this?

H x

 

4 thoughts on “Outfit: Wedding guest – my favourite dress

Leave a Reply

