Outfit: The Princess Skirt

Image adapted from Coast.com

Sometimes, a girl just wants to feel like a princess.

Jan 20th was the ‘Winter ball’ – the January equivalent of our work Christmas party. The venue was Bristol Museum and they’d gone all out with a Christmassy theme – even crackers – it weirdly felt like we’d all stepped back a month in time!

But… back to the outfit.

It’s rare that I get to properly dress up these days. It’s all weddings. When I go ‘out’ – it’s generally jeans and heeled boots. And even then I usually end up feeling overdressed. So for this event I was determined to up the glam….

The inspiration for this look came from this image – a gorgeous combination of black crop top and billowing maxi skirt. I’d attempted this look before but couldn’t fit a skirt that worked. Then, during a last-minute dash around Bristol’s shopping hub, Cabot Circus (where I bumped into two other girls from work also frantically dress-hunting), I stumbled across this beauty of a skirt in Coast.

I’ll admit, I haven’t looked in a Coast store since I was 18 and searching for Summer Prom dresses. I always thought of the brand as a bit to wedding-y and formal for my liking. I’m also generally not keen on spending so much on one piece –  last year’s wedding guest dress was a bargin-ous £28!

What I love about this skirt is the volume – it’s a 50s hollywood feel with a wonderful fit and flare. It’s the type of skirt that just makes you want to spin around on the spot! It has a sheer organza overlay and a high hem at the front to show off shiny shoes 🙂

I like to dress to suit my body. This combo obviously highlights my waist, but apart from that, there’s not too much of my pale wintry skin on show. I paired it with this pale blue crop top from New Look.

So this long ode to my skirt is over. This is the closest I will get to red carpet glamour… and the rest of the night was pretty fun too 🙂

img_20170120_194725

No party is complete without the opportunity to dress as a viking

H x

2 thoughts on “Outfit: The Princess Skirt

Leave a Reply

